UPH Government & External Affairs

2020 Election Preview: Illinois

by | Oct 15, 2020

Click here for a visual summary of Illinois’ 2020 state and federal elections.

Election Preview: Illinois General Assembly

Currently, majority of the Illinois House of Representatives, Senate and the Governor’s office are held by the Democratic Party. In addition to federal, local and judicial elections on the ballot, all 118 of the Illinois House and 20 of the 59 Illinois Senate seats are on the ballot. Illinois Governor J.B. Pritzker, elected to his first four-year term in 2018, will be up for re-election in 2022.

15 current state Representatives and Senators have announced their retirements, including:

Illinois State House

  • Rep. Arthur Turner II (D-District 9)

  • Rep. Margo McDermed (R-District 37)

  • Rep. Karina Villa (D-District 49)

  • Rep. David McSweeney (R-District 52)

  • Rep. Lindsay Parkhurst (R-District 79)

  • Rep. John Connor (D-District 85)

  • Rep. Mike Unes (R-District 91)

  • Rep. Darren Bailey (R-District 109)

  • Rep. Terri Bryant (R-District 115)

Illinois State Senate

  • Sen. Jim Oberweis (R-District 25)

  • Sen. Chuck Weaver (D-District 37)

  • Sen. Pat McGuire (D-District 43)

  • Sen. Jennifer Bertino-Tarrant (D-District 49)

  • Sen. Dale Righter (R-District 55)

  • Sen. Paul Schimpf (R-District 58)

Illinois General Assembly: Current Composition and Election Preview


The Democratic-controlled Illinois House have super-majority (3/5) control of the Illinois House, which requires 71 seats, and will seek to increase their numbers in the Chamber. There are over 20 contested House races throughout the state. The only contested House race in a UnityPoint Health service area is Representative Mike Halpin (D-Rock Island), who is expected to win handily. 

The Illinois State Senate Democrats also hold a super-majority with 39 seats (35 seats equates to a 3/5 super-majority) and also seeking to increase their numbers while likely retaining their super-majority control. 

Election Preview: Illinois’ Congressional Delegation

Illinois has 18 U.S. House of Representatives and two U.S. Senators. In the 2020 General Election, all 18 of the House seats and 1 of the Senate seats are on the ballot. The 117th U.S. Congress is scheduled to start on January 3, 2021.

Rep. John Shimkus (R-Illinois 15th) announced his retirement in 2019. UnityPoint Health service area races are as follows:

U.S. House

U.S. Senate
For this statewide office, candidates are Sen. Dick Durbin (D), who was first elected to the Senate in 1996 and currently serves as Minority Whip, and four challengers: attorney Mark Curran (R), retired attorney David Black (Green Party), human resources manager and volunteer youth coach Danny Malouf (Libertarian Party) and businessman Willie Nelson (Willie Nelson Party).

For more information about State of Illinois advocacy, legislative, policy and regulatory efforts, please contact Ashley Thompson, director of government & external affairs for UnityPoint Health.

For more information about federal advocacy, legislative, policy and regulatory efforts, please contact Cathy Simmons, executive director of regulatory affairs for UnityPoint Health.